Questions in this section:
Answers to the questions:
How do I create a profile?
You can find details about how to create a profile in our helpdesk here.
Do I have to fill in “How I identify”?
No, you don’t. You can fill in as much information as you like in your profile, and that includes the “How I Identify” section. The purpose of this section is to help the team at the Field understand our users and make sure we’re representing the diversity of our community. It helps us to make sure we are developing features and content that work for you! It's important to note that all information you add to this section is de-identified and is not displayed on your profile.
How do I decide what will/won’t appear publicly on my profile?
As you fill in your profile, tick boxes appear below individual sections, with the option to make that section appear publicly on your profile. When you tick the box, that section will appear to hiring managers when you apply for jobs. When unticked, the information will not appear publicly. There are certain sections like your name, that will always appear.
What’s the difference between the “About me” and “Resumes” sections?
The “About me” section is where you can tell us a little about your personality, skills and experiences. You can upload videos and audio to show off a bit about who you are, and you can choose to share this information with hiring managers by sharing it publicly on your profile.
The “Resumes” section does not display publicly on your profile, but is there to make applying for a job easier. When you have resumes uploaded to your profile, those resumes will automatically be added to any job applications you fill in to make applying for a job quicker and easier.
As only the “About me” will appear on your profile, you can create different video/audio files for each of these sections, or use the same files for both!
Does my resume appear on my profile?
No, uploading a resume to your profile won’t make it appear on your public profile for hiring managers to access. When you keep a resume on your profile, it will automatically be added to your job applications so you don't have to re-upload your resume every time you apply. You can replace the resume saved to your profile at any time, and can also replace the resume on an individual job application.
Do I need to have a resume on my profile to apply for jobs?
No, you can upload your resumes individually to your job applications and don’t need to have them saved to your profile to apply for jobs.
Do I have to choose accessibility preferences in order to apply for a job?
No, you can add as much or as little information about your accessibility needs and preferences as you like. You can:
- Add accessibility preferences to your profile and choose to keep them private to inform the matching AI
- Add accessibility preferences and choose to display them publicly
- Not add any accessibility preferences at all
Whatever your choice, you will still be able to apply for a job.
How do I get all the ticks on the “Add features to make your profile unique” section?
There are 5 check boxes that appear in this section, which tick automatically as you add information to your profile:
- About me – to get this tick, you can either fill in the “About me” text box, add a video file or add an audio file.
- Audio or video resume – to get this tick, add either a video or audio resume to your profile.
- Interview type – to get this tick, add your interview preferences.
- Accessibility preferences – to get this tick, add your accessibility preferences to your profile.
- Skills - to get this tick, add some skills to your profile.
How can I preview my profile the way an employer will?
At the bottom of each section of your profile, you will find an option to “preview profile”. This will show you how your profile will appear to an employer.
Can I make my profile anonymous so my current employer can’t find it?
While we don’t have the option to make a profile completely anonymous, at this stage the only time someone can access your profile is when you apply for a job. When you apply, the employer you have applied to is able to access your profile. However, your profile can't be searched for and won't appear in any other context.